Electrical Engineering Internships: 2027 Guide

    Electrical engineering internships span design, power, and test work. See which employers are hiring, what they ask for, and how to apply for summer 2027.

    Electrical engineering internships on Intern Insider already include summer 2027 seats in circuit design, power, and test. When this guide was written, the electrical engineering roles page listed 1,188 open internships from 477 companies, and 135 of them were added this week.

    That page groups jobs by the work. The electrical engineering field page is wider: internships open to electrical engineering students, including roles that are not titled electrical engineer. It listed 6,915 open internships from 1,580 companies, and 928 were added this week. Counts below are as listed on Intern Insider when this guide was written. Postings change quickly, so the posting you apply through is the final word on its own terms.

    Electrical engineering internships open now#

    The United States roles page listed 1,090 from 441 companies, with 128 added this week. The Canada roles page listed 81 from 52 companies, with 9 added this week. The United States field page listed 6,233 from 1,451 companies, and the Canada field page listed 686 from 223 companies. Employers with open electrical roles include RTX, Tesla, Jacobs, WSP, Southern California Edison, Mott MacDonald, Emerson, Flex, Keysight Technologies, Wing, Ciena, Burns & McDonnell, Stratolaunch, and CACI.

    City pages on the roles hub include Palo Alto with 28 open roles from 4 companies, Austin with 38 from 23, Houston with 23 from 16, and Toronto with 14 from 9.

    What the open roles ask you to do#

    Each listing below was open when this guide was written, asks for a student who is still enrolled, and is marked paid.

    RoleWhere and whenWhat the posting emphasizes
    RTX, Electrical Engineering InternEl Segundo, California. On-site, full-time, Summer 2027.High-speed digital hardware, schematics, circuit cards, and lab validation. A bachelor's or advanced degree in electrical engineering in progress, at least 60 credit hours, and United States citizenship.
    WSP, Substation InternRichmond, Virginia. On-site, Summer 2027.Field work, design calculations, plans, and cost estimates. Graduation in August 2027 or later, United States work authorization, and $23.03 to $29.96 per hour. No relocation or housing assistance.
    Tesla, Energy Engineering InternPalo Alto, California. On-site. Winter, Spring, or Summer 2027.Test-lab schematics in AutoCAD or Altium, for at least 12 weeks at 40 hours a week. Marked paid, with no figure stated.
    Jacobs, Electrical Engineering InternBoston. Hybrid, full-time, Summer 2027.Security, telecommunications, and transportation systems, plus site visits. Rising junior, grade point average (GPA) of 3.0, a previous internship, and no visa sponsorship. Pay is $45,000 to $65,000 per year, paid hourly.
    Mott MacDonald, Electrical Engineering InternshipAustin and The Woodlands, Texas. Hybrid, at least three office days a week. A three-month Summer 2027 program.Design, site inspections, and client meetings. Sponsorship is not available. Pay is $18 to $35 per hour.
    Southern California Edison, Summer InternshipWestminster, California. Hybrid, full-time. May or June through August or September 2027.Utility project work and an intern expo presentation. Graduation in December 2027 or later, GPA of 2.8 or higher, and no visa sponsorship. Marked paid, with no figure.

    A second Tesla listing, Internship, Electrical Engineer, Cell Manufacturing, is the factory version of the same major. It asks for current enrollment in an electrical engineering program and for full-time on-site work of at least 12 weeks, in Winter, Spring, or Summer 2027. Locations on the listing include San Diego, Palo Alto, Fremont, Austin, Robstown, Reno, and Toronto. It is marked paid and does not state a figure.

    RTX states United States citizenship on the other open electrical listings we read, not only El Segundo. The Fort Wayne hardware intern is on-site for Summer 2027 and lists compensation of 37,000 to 82,000 US dollars. The listing says citizenship is required because of program and contract requirements. The Cedar Rapids manufacturing co-op is on-site for Winter 2027 or Summer 2027 and also requires United States citizenship. In Cambridge, Massachusetts, the hardware intern is Summer 2027 and requires citizenship plus a security clearance. The hardware co-op lists Winter 2027 and Summer 2027, and it says a United States government security clearance requires United States citizenship.

    Not every defense or aerospace listing uses that line. CACI, Electrical Engineering Co-op/Intern in Rochester, New York, is part-time and paid, for Winter 2027 and Summer 2027, on digital and radio frequency communications hardware. It asks for legal authorization to work in the United States without employer sponsorship, and it does not state a citizenship rule. Stratolaunch, Manufacturing (Electrical) Engineering Intern is full-time and on-site in Mojave, California, for Summer 2027. The company card on that page describes Stratolaunch as a designer of aerospace vehicles. The listing asks for a degree in progress and for a short presentation, paper, or project summary with the application. It does not state a citizenship requirement. It is marked paid and does not state a figure.

    Power and product teams ask for drawings, instruments, or code.

    The Keysight research and development power electronics intern is full-time and on-site in Loveland, Colorado. The listing title abbreviates research and development as R&D. It does not name a season. It asks for a bachelor's or master's in progress, graduation in December 2027 or May 2028, enrollment as of September 2027, one undergraduate course in power electronics or control systems, Python, and hardware description language (HDL) work. Visa sponsorship is not available. It is marked paid and does not state a figure. Flex is full-time and on-site in Des Moines, with the term listed as Rolling. The work is power-management schematics and computer-aided design (CAD) in AutoCAD or MicroStation. Sponsorship is not available. Emerson is on-site in Elyria, Ohio, for Winter 2027. It asks for sophomore or junior standing, a cumulative GPA of 3.00, full-time hours during the semester, and more than one co-op rotation. The work includes printed circuit board layout and C on microcontrollers. It requires United States work authorization without sponsorship. Both are marked paid and do not state a figure.

    Wing is a full-time, hybrid Summer 2027 hardware test role in Palo Alto. The company card describes Wing as a drone delivery company. The listing asks for schematics, oscilloscopes, and spectrum analyzers, and for graduation between December 2027 and August 2028. It is marked paid and does not state a figure. In Canada, the Ciena hardware characterization co-op is paid, hybrid, and marked Winter 2027 in Ottawa, with some days on campus. It asks for enrollment in computer science, computer engineering, or electrical engineering. Pay is listed as $25.50 to $35.00 per hour, and the listing does not name a currency. It does not state a United States citizenship rule.

    Burns & McDonnell has two electrical intern listings that do not name a season. The Denver role lists $19.50 to $37.00 per hour, prefers a 3.0 GPA, prefers a program accredited by ABET (the Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology), and requires United States work authorization without future sponsorship. The Orlando role is on-site and full-time, prefers the same GPA and accreditation, and requires authorization to work in the United States permanently without sponsorship. The Orlando listing does not state a pay figure.

    Jacobs, Emerson, Flex, Keysight, Mott MacDonald, Southern California Edison, Burns & McDonnell, and CACI each state a work-authorization rule and say sponsorship is not available. None of those listings states a citizenship requirement. WSP asks for authorization to work in the United States and does not use the sponsorship sentence.

    Coursework that shows up more than once#

    RTX El Segundo asks for circuit coursework or projects, plus MATLAB, SPICE, and board-design software. The Cambridge intern listing names oscilloscopes, power supplies, and spectrum analyzers. Keysight, Emerson, and Ciena ask for a programming language. WSP's substation listing does not.

    Class year and GPA appear only on some postings. Jacobs wants a rising junior, a previous internship, and a 3.0. Emerson wants sophomore or junior standing and a 3.00. Southern California Edison wants a 2.8. Burns & McDonnell lists a 3.0 as strongly preferred. RTX El Segundo wants 60 credit hours. Several other listings here print neither a GPA nor a class year.

    No listing linked in this guide asks for a Professional Engineer license. NCEES describes the Fundamentals of Engineering (FE) exam as generally the first step toward licensure. The same page says the exam is for recent graduates and for students close to finishing an undergraduate engineering degree from an EAC/ABET-accredited program. That sits near the end of the degree, not on these internship forms.

    The mechanical engineering internships guide and the computer science internships guide cover the neighboring searches. The tech internship resume guide and the university internship resume guide cover the bullets.

    How and when to apply for summer 2027#

    Summer 2027 electrical roles are already posted. The Summer 2027 internships page listed 19,693 open internships from 2,782 companies when this guide was written. That count is every field, not electrical engineering alone. The Winter 2027 internships page listed 5,698 from 1,424 companies.

    Intern Insider shows an apply-by date on each listing in this guide. The date is on the listing page. It is not a sentence in the job description, so reread the posting on the day you apply. As shown when this guide was written, the dates are:

    • 1 November 2026: Keysight, both Burns & McDonnell listings, Ciena, CACI, and the WSP substation intern in Burnsville or Minneapolis. That WSP role is on-site, marked Summer 2027, lists $23.03 to $29.96 per hour, and asks for United States work authorization at the start.

    • 3 November 2026: the WSP intern in Tempe, on-site for Summer 2027, same hourly range, graduation in August 2027 or later, on healthcare projects.

    • 4 November 2026: WSP in Richmond, Jacobs in Boston, Emerson, Flex, and Wing.

    • 7 November 2026: Stratolaunch. 30 November 2026: Mott MacDonald.

    • 7 December 2026: RTX in El Segundo and Cambridge. 8 December 2026: RTX in Fort Wayne and Cedar Rapids.

    • 22 December 2026: Southern California Edison. 27 December 2026: both Tesla listings.

    In our analysis of when internship postings really close, about a third of postings are already gone by the time their own stated deadline arrives. The summer 2027 application timeline shows when employer waves tend to open. Flex is the listing here whose term line says Rolling, so there is no season to wait for.

    If a posting asks for a project write-up, as Stratolaunch does, send it with the form. Check citizenship and sponsorship before you apply, then recheck the electrical engineering roles page. To compare this field with the rest of the board, browse all open internships.

    Frequently asked questions

    Summer 2027 roles were already open when this guide was written. Intern Insider shows an apply-by date on each listing linked here, from 1 November 2026 through 27 December 2026. That date sits on the listing page and is not restated in the job description, so read the posting again on the day you apply. About a third of internship postings are already gone by the time their own stated deadline arrives.

    Found this useful? Pass it along.

    Looking for an internship right now?

    We watch the career pages of 200,000+ companies and post new internships the moment they go live. Set your preferences once and get matched with roles that fit.